The Marcella Boys

Arrived July 21, 2011

If you want to view paradise… July 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Gary Marcella @ 2:36 pm

By: Gary Marcella

Well, if you picked July 21, 2011 in the twin pool…ding, ding, ding! You win (well technically Laura and I win!). I am writing this post from Laura’s bedside at the hospital as she rests, and forgive me but this device is not allowing me picture uploads (I’ll work something out)! So, as you can tell…BUSY DAY yesterday! The excitement started about 5:30pm. I was cooking dinner and Laura was in the bathroom, she yelled to me for some help. I raced over and apparently some extra fluid had found it’s way out of her (I cleaned up the language for those of us squeamish in the crowd). we immediately called the after hour care number, laid on the bed and anxiously awaited the dr callback. Much to our surprise, no call for at least 45 min. We called back and told them we were going to the hospital. We would later find out that the after hrs tech put that Laura was 6 weeks pregnant in the page to the dr instead of 36… Hence the no call. Anyway, we have obviously never gone thru this before, so we weren’t exactly sure if Laura’s water had broke, or if we were wasting our time going to the hospital. I scramble to get the bag finalized (let this be a lesson – don’t think just because you have 24 days till the due date you can put this off) and headed out the door. We roll up to the ER and the nurse took one look at me, white as a ghost, and thought I needed to be admitted! Finally got Laura’s paperwork done and they whisk us up to the Maternity floor by about 7:15pm. We sit in the room for another 20 minutes with NOTHING… Don’t they know there is a very pregnant mom with twins in here possibly in labor?? Finally I race out to the nurses station and crack the whip to get this show on the road. They hook up the monitors to the babies and to measure Laura’s contractions. Luckily, throughout this whole ordeal, she never had a painful contraction. We sit for another 45 minutes with the monitors on, all nervous and stuff. We flick on the TV to help calm the nerves and find a CLASSIC movie on – Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (original, no Depp in this one). Everyone who comes in the room comments on the movie… They all love it too! Finally, the midwife on call comes to verify that Laura had indeed broke her water – confirmation… Babies are coming tonight! The next sequence probably took place over the next 45 minutes to an hour, but to me it felt like 30 seconds. As we made our decision to stick with the C Section, around 10 doctors and nurses file in and out of the room in prep, the only thing keeping Laura and I from flipping out was Charlie! As they jettison us to the OR, the last thing we hear as we leave the room was (THE song, you know how it goes) “If you want to view paradise, simply look around and view it…” PERFECT!! What then seemed like 5 seconds later (the time lapse section of my brain was malfunctioning) WE HAD BABIES!! Grady Angelo Marcella (Baby A – 1st picture below) born @ 10:37 pm 7/21/11 – 6lb, 10oz – 19.25 inches. And 2 minutes later his brother Logan Louis Marcella (B – second picture) yells out at 10:39 pm – 5lb, 9oz – 19.50 inches. Those were the best two sounds I have ever heard in my life!! Laura did a super job growing the boys and making sure they were 100% perfect for this moment! Surgery went well, and recovery felt like forever till we could see them again. Now we still were 5 weeks early, so the boys need to spend some time in the Special Care Nursery. Well, that’s our July 21st… How was yours? I’ll get pictures up as soon as I can, sorry for the massive word dump with no visual representation! Stay tuned, I have a feeling I can’t stop writing about these guys!

20110722-024217.jpg

20110722-024508.jpg

 

3 Responses to “If you want to view paradise…”

  1. Grandmother to be Says:

    Beautiful

  2. Auntie Lissa Says:

    Thems my gorgeous nephews! Love you all!

  3. Jen Says:

    Well that is the perfect song from that movie 🙂 I wonder if they will like Willy Wonka 🙂 Congrats!


Leave a Reply

