The Marcella Boys

Arrived July 21, 2011

Memorial Day – Catching up on the blog! June 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Gary Marcella @ 12:54 pm

By: Gary Marcella

Wow – I can’t believe it’s been over a week since my last post.  Thank you to all the followers who check  back on a consistent basis for posts, it is appreciated.  Well, not for anything,

The shirt I got Laura for her Birthday!

but its been a tremendously busy few weeks – I needed to get a ton of stuff done before my big Memorial Day extravaganza.  That included getting the Nursery set, shed built, house cleaned, and of course, SMOKE THE RIBS!!!  It was all well worth it – everyone had a blast as always and no one was injured in the making of the Memorial day party – well maybe Nate, but I confirmed he is on the mend, perhaps a stomach bug (hummmm….?).  As promised in a previous post, I wanted to unveil the shirt I had made for Laura – if you can’t read it, it says “Relax, They’re Not Yours – The  Boys Arriving August 2011”.  Laura did really well at the party, alternating between the air conditioned house and outside, it was a pretty hot day, but the humidity was down thankfully.  I also let her know that in previous years, I underestimated how much she really does for these parties, because I thought I could do it all and I was very wrong.   Next year (if there will be a party next year – more on that in a minute) I need her help again, it is nearly impossible to do it all!  As for the next year comment -we were blessed

The boys playing in the yard!

with the presence of a few of a few little boys at the party.  Phil and Janine brought little Phil (middle, white shirt), Rocco and Michelle brought both Evan (right, orange shirt), and their newest addition Miles (not pictured) who is one month old, Dan and Tina brought Derek (left, blue shirt squatting down), Gino and Kristen brought little Gino (not pictured) who is 5 months old.  It was an incredible sight to see all the boys playing in the yard, as well as the little ones being happy and joyful in everyone’s arms, but here’s where I started to realize I am definitely going to have my hands full with my own two boys.  Almost as if they rehearse it, as I am cooking on the grill I see one of the boys run to the back of the house to the left, one run to the front of the house on the right, and one kinda just milled around contemplating his next move.  As parents scramble to catch them – I also realize that they truly are faster than us, I am convinced these kids could outrun Michael Johnson in a full out sprint, let alone the bobbing and weaving they do!  At one point, my friend Chuck sought me out to let me know that I have officially lost control of the party – and that there were more kids than adults! My only saving grace for next year’s party will be that PERHAPS my boys won’t be able to walk yet, but I’m sure they will be mobile crawling.  Who am I kidding, I am still going to do the party, I can’t pass this up, it’s too good a time.   In other news, Laura is doing well, we had a checkup last week which went well, and we have our week 28, level II ultrasound on Friday, and rest assured, I will NOT walk out of that appointment without getting pictures.  Laura and I have a running bet on how big the boys will be this time around, the over/under is 3lb 2oz each – I think they will be OVER!  Stay tuned, more to come this weekend!

 

One Response to “Memorial Day – Catching up on the blog!”

  1. Mary O Says:

    I was wondering where you were. So glad everything is going well. Keep the posts coming!


Leave a Reply

