The Marcella Boys

Arrived July 21, 2011

A Perfect Pair of Daffodils April 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Gary Marcella @ 9:11 am

By: Gary Marcella

We'll call this one Flower A

So I never do know where my inspiration to write another entry is going to come from – but as soon as I turned to corner of my house today it immediately hit me and I had my story.   There is a cold, near freezing chill in the air this morning, its around 36 degrees in Watertown.  As the frigid air blasts me in t he face when I leave the semi warmth of my house (I don’t use heat now, it’s spring, right?), I think ugh, its Friday, and I can’t wait till the 65 plus degree weather expected tomorrow.  I get to the corner of my house and something tells me to look right, and there they were – the two most perfect daffodils popping their heads out of the ground basking in the morning sunlight!  ITS FINALLY SPRING! If this isn’t inspiration, I don’t know what is!

And this is Flower B

Seeing these flowers I immediately thought of the boys and it felt as if the sun enhanced 20 degrees that moment, and the day immediately got better.  So I quickly snap the shots of the flowers and hightail it off to work. You’ll have to trust me that these indeed are NOT the same flower – I did not use trick photography to enhance my story – I’m not James Frey author of “A Million Little Pieces” (I use this example because I read the book before all the controversy surrounding it and laughed, cried, LOVED IT – one of the best inspirational tales I ever read, all turned out to be mostly fabricated – it broke my heart).  I love how Flower A is slightly bigger than Flower B – just like the boys. I suppose when I get home from work, I’m going to find the two flowers next to eachother kicking eachother with their roots!

In the boys world – we had our doctors appts Thursday – no Ultrasound, but we got to hear they boys heartbeats again, its always amazing!  They are very strong beats – B was 157 BPM, A was 142 BPM.  What was funny was that the babies were moving all around – we could hear them through the microphone – the doctor pointed out what it sounds like when they move.  I can only imagine how crowded it is in there, they each have to find their best position for the minute.  Well, that’s it – these daffodils inspired my day, the bulbs made it through the long, disastrous winter, crawled through the frozen terrain of last years mulch chips and dead leaves, only to soak up all the morning rays and bask in the glow of Spring – hopefully they inspire yours too!

EDITORS NOTE:  Something I left out of the original post – Daffodils are a favorite flower of Laura’s.  When we first dated, we went to a daffodil filed in Litchfield early spring, it’s always been a special symbol between us – as the boys are now, hence my inspiration! 

 

Leave a Reply

