The Marcella Boys

Arrived July 21, 2011

From Monte to Mazda March 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Gary Marcella @ 9:48 am

By: Gary Marcella

Ok, so by now you’ve met the boys – this next story is directly related to the fact we are having twins. 

So long old friend, we've been thru good times together. 7/17/02 - 3/17/11

I’ve driven around a 2001 Monte Carlo SS for years now – my parents can attest to the fact that was my dream car!  Got it with 18k miles on it, practically brand new.  When I first got out of college, I had a job in Norwalk, this car was my first big purchase, and my first car I owned on my own (well the bank owned it for several years, but I finally owned it).  Used to wash it every other weekend, kept the car MINT!  Eventually, miles started piling up and more and more things went wrong with it – perhaps it got a bath once every 3 months, but needless to say – I spent a ton of time in this car.  Any of you who know a Monte Carlo realize this is indeed a 2 door coupe.  Fast-forward to 2011 – we know now Laura is pregnant and there is no way I’m going to struggle getting 2 carseats in the back seat of this Monte.   I am pretty much reserved to the fact I have to get a family vehicle very soon – but not THIS soon.  I’d been looking into crossovers for a while now, and we narrowed it down to a Mazda 5 – wish it were an American car, but for some reason, Americans want huge gas guzzling engines rather than fuel economy. 

Here it is, from Monte to Mazda…

The Mazda gets 28 MPG and is a decent size, so it was the choice I made.  So I’m driving the Monte into work about 3 weeks ago – mind you I’m up to 192k miles at this point, and something gives – I can no longer drive the car… IN DRIVE!  Reverse works just great, and low 2 & 1 work, but no drive or low 3.  By this time, I had already looked at this Mazda in particular and decided it was the one I wanted – the dealership offered me $500 for my Monte, when it was working.  I thought long and hard if I just wanted to keep it for that amount… again when it was working.  After this incident, I realized it was over for the old girl.  Made a deal with the salesman and, on March 17th – St. Patty’s Day, I drive the Monte over to pick up the Mazda, all the way to Executive Honda in Wallingford, in LOW 2 mind you all the while crossing my fingers the remaining gear didn’t slip and leave me stranded.  I make it there – park the car and don’t say ANOTHER WORD about the Monte.  Listen, for $500, I am kinda glad it didn’t drive right.   The new car is great – plenty of room (there is a third row of seats) very clean, and actually fun to drive believe it or not.  It snowed the other day and I can’t get over the fact my car is dirty… Well, off to the car wash!!

 

2 Responses to “From Monte to Mazda”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Would it embarrass you if I said I am really proud of you for stepping up and getting a “Daddy” car? I tease… But I am impressed. Always knew you were gonna be a great Dad.

  2. gmarcell79 Says:

    Not embarassing – Thanks! I catch more slack from it being a foreign car than a “Minivan” – although I do get razzed about that too!


Leave a Reply

